Who are the Columbans?

The Columbans are a missionary society of priests who work in 17 countries including: Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Britain, Ireland, China, Japan, Korea, Myanmar (former Burma), Philippines, Taiwan, Pakistan, Chile, Peru, Brazil, Mexico and the United States.

Columban Fathers work in cooperation with lay people and Columban Sisters from a standpoint of solidarity with the poor and integrity of creation. Solidarity with the poor means that we recognise the moral challenge of worldwide and local poverty. It means supporting the struggle of the poor for real participation and against injustice.

St Columbans Mission Society was formally founded in 1918 and takes its name from St Columban, Ireland's sixth century missionary to Europe. In the countries where we work:

It is our mission to:

  • Cross boundaries of country, language and culture to establish the Church among peoples who have not heard the Gospel.
  • Help Catholic Churches mature until they are able to evangelize their own people.
  • Promote dialogue between Christians and those of other religions and faith traditions.
  • Help build a culture of peace.

We are committed to:

  • Promoting Justice, Peace and Integrity of Creation from a standpoint of solidarity with the poor.
  • Helping local churches be more missionary.
  • Promoting partnerships between the Australian and New Zealand churches with overseas local churches, especially where Columbans are working.
  • Providing resources in developing laity for global mission.
  • Mission work in the areas of Churches in China; Christian-Muslim Relation; and Peace, Ecology and Justice.
  • Advocating respect and care for the earth and environment.

Related Links

Donate Regularly

donate Regularly


Help us plan for the future
Ensure that mission continues
Stand in solidarity with the poor


Donate Regularly RHM